This is a list of identifiable names that Ghanaians have called me in the past month.

Empress, Madame, Rasta Girl, Ese, and, last but certainly not least, Obroni. Yes, I’m white, how perceptive of you.

I feel inadequate, dumb, and princessy living here without knowing any more Fante than meda ase (thank you) and akwaaba (welcome). On the other hand, I feel exceedingly lucky to miss (most of) what people shout at me in the market. Cowardly, but ignorance is bliss. I’m pretty sure these things are the same hand after all.

Actually, I quite like Empress. Vast improvement over Princess. Empress is comely like Princess but has the added benefit of also being powerful, intelligent, and fierce. That’s a fucking compliment my friends. I am humbled and undeserving.

Also, I’m ridiculously white.

One Response to “This is a list of identifiable names that Ghanaians have called me in the past month.”

  1. I’m digging the empress too! I also get sister, wife, mother, and god forbid, grandmother. I can’t help it that obrunis get wrinkles…

Leave a Reply

