Ghana in Reverse (One)

A little background: I’m planning on doing a whole series of posts about everything I’ve learned living in Ghana. Now I realize that this is going to be more time-consuming than I had originally imagined, as I’m still learning it, and more difficult, as I’m in a decent mood today and most of my creative energy comes from extremes. Unfortunately, I just happened to see a No Reservations about Ghana [I have a bone to pick with Anthony Bourdain, that man did not address exactly how he felt about the delicacy Fufu, which is a damned travesty. I do not like or even understand Fufu although it is kind of fascinating to watch it being made], so now I’m dedicated to writing another post. I have to start somewhere and don’t want to write anything that is entirely devoid of value. Twisty brain tells me that the solution to this is to write about my time there in reverse, and I’m going to start with the two days I didn’t sleep while travelling back from Ghana to the US.

It’s December 6th. It’s 5:30 AM in Ghana, but it’s 7:30 AM at the airport in Istanbul where I’m sitting, waiting for my plane back to the States. I didn’t sleep on the plane from Accra to Istanbul, because I never sleep on planes and there were so many movies in that silly box on the seat in front of me, so I had two glasses of red wine and watched Sherlock Holmes, The First Wives Club, and Beetlejuice instead. I’m now sitting at a bar, drinking light beer and waiting for a Turkish coffee (Turkish coffee might be the manliest coffee). Yes, I’m drinking coffee and beer. Fuck it, I’ve already had breakfast and since it seems like I’m still in the midst of a two-year, third-life crisis thing, I might as well go for it. The airport is practically the only fucking place you can drink without judgement at any time of day. It’s probably safe to say that no one sitting in this bar with me now feels like it’s 7:30 AM. We could be from anywhere. (On a side note, I just found a 20 Pesewa coin in my DVD drive, which I hope is the reason I couldn’t play DVDs). I’m tired.

Leave a Reply

