Ghana in Reverse (Ten)

I’m going out to a local community to work with my roommate. I’m unsure about how helpful the organization’s structure really allows itself to be to them, because building a small water harvester in an area that needs a big water harvester three months out of the year and no water harvester nine months of the year sounds inefficient to me and a better solution must exist, but I’ll probably never have another opportunity to go and it’s nice to have a change of scenery. Plus, I’ve never been to Kakum.

For the next week I’m living in a different room with three other girls, one of whom is a tall blonde who was apparently recruited for a professional European volleyball team. She turned it down. Why would you turn that down? Girl. The phrase “shit show” keeps appearing in our lexicon. I’m afraid I might have started that, I do enjoy casual profanity a great deal.

Against all odds, the water harvester goes up and stays up, even with six or seven humans on it. That was fun. I like climbing things. I’m happy it actually got built (my standards have changed significantly in the past few months). I spend a lot of time smoking cigarettes with a 20-year-old Romanian. I don’t think many people actually think of themselves as being a certain age until they are presented with a situation which makes them aware of it. These people were born in the 90s. I was almost a human being by that time. I’m still almost a human being. When was Saved by the Bell being shown? I’m so done with this personal crisis bullshit.

Leave a Reply

